Work Starts on Wednesday!

My last few days of vacation, before I start work on August 1st, have been filled with leisurely reading and long afternoons at the pool.  Thanks to my regimented sunscreen application, I have yet to feel the wrath of a sunburn – go me.

First up, I re-read Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake.  The anticipated sequel (at least for me it’s anticipated), Girl of Nightmares will be released next Tuesday, August 7th.  This YA novel is about Cas, a ghost-hunter (not ghostbuster), and his quest to vanquish a particularly vengeful ghost named Anna; the story follows his tale as a simple job of taking down a ghost goes very awry.  While in the novel Cas resents the comparison of his ragtag group of associates to Buffy the Vampire Slayer, it is fitting, and a contributing reason as to why I like the book so much.

Image

I was very happy to discover that Kendare Blake and Erin Morgenstern (the author of the previously discussed Night Circus) will make an appearance at the AJC Decatur Book Festival August 31st to September 2nd.  YAY! I love meeting authors!  While many authors do make it out to the local bookstores in Raleigh, NC, I am hoping even more make their way to Atlanta (similar to musicians).

See http://www.decaturbookfestival.com/2012/index.php for more information.

Next, I re-read The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.  I had originally borrowed this book from my friend Ginger but after reading it, I had to own it for myself.  Normally, I am not a fan of books written in the form of letters aka epistolary novels, however, this one is phenomenal in my opinion.  For people that know me, it is no surprise that I am ecstatic for the movie adaptation starring Emma Watson!  The movie is due in theaters mid-September.  Though for the record, I tend to believe that books should be left in their written format, more often than not, the book is always better than the movie.

Image

Most recently (today in fact), I finished reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.  The cover of this novel intrigued me for many weeks at the bookstore and finally read it when I received it as a gift.  I really enjoyed this book, it ended quite abruptly however and the sequel is due out next spring.  This book is also being adapted for film by Tim Burton.  This is not surprising given the quirky cover, however as previously stated, why does Hollywood have to turn every book into a movie??

Image

In between reading or watching The Walking Dead on Netflix (I finished season 2 of Pretty Little Liars and am now going through withdrawal as season 3 is currently in motion and unavailable for streaming – boo!  I did give The Vampire Diaries pilot a try but then realized I was tired of watching high schoolers and switched to zombies), I have been tuning into the Olympics.  Little gymnastics, little swimming/diving, and actually a little kayaking this morning.  The age range of Olympians is astounding to me.  Some of the gymnasts and swimmers are so young but then the some of the other sportsmen are in their 40s.  I have decided I like female gymnastics more than male – I’m not a fan of the pummel horse or the parallel bars.  Just putting it out there.

SO 2 big things happen on Wednesday!  Mark comes – yayayayay!  And work starts – ah!!  I did a practice drive to work today, it took about 20 minutes, but I was also commuting about an hour later than I will on Wednesday.  I set my alarm in order to go through the motions as if I was really going to work.  However, I said screw you alarm without realizing it and then slept for another hour – oops!

The plan tomorrow is to ensure all of my paperwork is in order, straighten up the apartment, and lounge by the pool one last day, well one last weekday that is.  Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Work Starts on Wednesday!

  1. Gwen says:

    Glad to be able to keep up with you and your happenings, glad everything is coming together for you. Still miss you here though!

Leave a Reply

