Welcome to 2013!

Happy New Years!  One of my New Years Resolutions is to blog more than once a month, shouldn’t be too hard to accomplish…

Onto the topic of conversation!

The most recent trend in young adult literature is to publish short stories in between the novels of a series.  These short stories are only available in electronic format as e-books.  They are cheap – ranging from free to $2.99.  Anyone who knows me will tell you that I do not own an e-reader, nor do I desire one.  There is something magical about reading a physical book – the feel of the pages, the smell of the binding, even the faded water spots from Bear shaking his wet paw on the pages while I read in the bath.  I love bookmarks, dog-eared pages, and book jackets (though they simultaneously drive me up the wall).  So the fact that some of my favorite series have companion short stories only available for e-readers breaks my heart.

Fast forward – I have reluctantly caved to this sadistic trend, perpetuating the vicious cycle.  After all, if no one bought the e-reader only short stories, maybe authors would no longer publish them.  However, that way of thinking is pure fantasy given the market of e-readers so I have accepted reality and paid for these evil little stories.  But how you may ask can I accomplish this if I have no e-reader?  I have been begrudgingly reading the stories on my iPhone – not the easiest thing in the world for my poor brown eyes but totally worth it for a slice of literary life from some of my favorite authors.

Feelings about e-readers aside, these stories also pose another problem.  I get really into the stories and then BAM they’re over!  Such a tease!  These stories also come out in between novels of series so they give you a taste of whats to come in the next book but then remind you that you still wait a few months for the book to actually be released.

So here they are in all their glory, the stories that have captivated and irritated me:

Free Four Annabel Hana

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dream Dark by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl – A Beautiful Creatures Story (#2.5) between Beautiful Darkness and Beautiful Chaos. Hana by Lauren Oliver – A Delirium Story (#1.5) between Delirium and Pandemonium.  Annabel by Lauren Oliver – A Delirium Story (#0.5), a prequel.  Free Four by Veronica Roth – A Divergent Story (#1.1), in tandem with Divergent.  In a few short months, Raven by Lauren Oliver – A Delirium Story (#2.5) between Pandemonium and Requiem will join the ranks.

So there you have it, my love/hate relationship with e-reader only short stories.  I do encourage all to read these delightful YA series – they make me happy, regardless of the e-reader drama.

Leave a Reply

