Beautiful Creatures

Since Hunger Games (technically Mockingjay because I was late on the Hunger Games bandwagon), I have been reading quite a bit of Young Adult literature.  I like to refer to Young Adult novels as my guilty pleasure but that is really doing a disservice to the genre because there are some phenomenal writers out there in the Young Adult section of the bookstore!  For the past two months I have been reading the Beautiful Creatures series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.  I am currently reading Beautiful Chaos (#3).

Beautiful Chaos

I am reading the series in tandem with two of my friends so we adjust our pace for each other and give each other flexibility to read other books in between the Beautiful Creatures books.  Last post I complained about the trend of e-reader-only novellas in Young Adult series.  While waiting to start Chaos, I became impatient and bought Dream Dark (#2.5) for my iPhone (I do not possess an e-reader as previously discussed).  As predicted, Dream Dark featuring everyone’s favorite Linkubus was awesome.  However, this little slice of Gatlin was not enough to quench my BC thirst!  When it was time to start Chaos, I purchased it from my local bookstore – Little Shop of Stories in Decatur, GA.  I flipped to the end of my paperback and what did I find printed there??  Dream Dark…  If only I had exercised some patience …. Alas!

Moving right along!  One of the great things about living in Atlanta is the number of people that have a tour date in the city, be it musicians, authors, etc.  Via Kami Garcia’s blog on GoodReads.com I found out about a Beautiful Creatures Movie Preview Party in north Atlanta!  Both authors and two of the actors in the upcoming movie would be present for book and poster signings!  Zoey Deutch (Emily Asher) and Thomas Mann (Link) were present with Garcia and Stohl.  AND – the first 200 fans would receive a movie ticket for an advance screening of the film on Feb 7th!!  (Beautiful Creatures officially hits movie theaters on Valentine’s Day)

My friend Tracey and I ventured up past the perimeter into the unsteady world of suburbia… scary!  We got to Barnes and Noble a little before six, the event was to start at 6:30.  B&N had a side of their store decorated with BC posters, a television with the movie trailer playing and a stage set up for the guests of honor.  We hopped in line which wasn’t too terribly long and we were near the stage due to the accordion nature of the line – perfect.  B&N was very very organized!  Once everyone came to the stage, guests were taken up for the signing and a picture!  Let me just say that Tracey and I had a pretty killer pic!

Beautiful Creatures Party

We even got to chat briefly with everyone!  Zoey Deutch was previously on the cancelled TV show – Ringer with Sarah Michelle Gellar.  Tracey and I were thrilled to meet her!  Love live Buffy!!  Everyone was so sweet!  I can’t wait to finish Chaos, start Redemption, and see Beautiful Creatures the movie!

Leave a Reply

