Book Review: MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood

MaddAddam is the final book in the MaddAddam trilogy by Margaret Atwood.  I absolutely loved Oryx and Crake (published in 2004).  Mark recommended O&C to me in an effort to woo me with his mad literary skills and he certainly succeeded.  Year of the Flood followed in 2009 to my delight – it completely caught me off guard as I had no idea O&C was a trilogy .  Year of the Flood alternately follows Toby and Ren during the same timeline as Jimmy and Crake and MaddAddam volleys between Zeb in the past and Toby/Ren/Jimmy in the present.

For some unknown reason, it took me a looooong time to finish MaddAddam.  I of course had my copy of MaddAddam pre-ordered for its release after Labor Day.  Why it took me a month to read MaddAddam when I completely devoured Oryx and Crake and Year of the Flood is a mystery to me.  In September I was NetFlix-ing hardcore on Supernatural and Doctor Who, work was  crazy busy, excuses excuses . . . .   However, I do believe Toby’s storyline was the main factor in dragging my feet.  I loveddd Toby’s storyline in Year of the Flood and I was eager to learn the backstory to Zeb, Adam and God’s Gardeners.  Much to my chagrin in MaddAddam, badass Toby got whiney.  I tried to look past it but it really seemed out of character for strong/silent Toby pining after a boy!  This however was my only gripe with MaddAddam.

Overall I really liked MaddAddam.  The Crakers ended up being my favorite characters, especially Blackbeard.  I loved the stories Toby and eventually Blackbeard told the Crakers while wearing the red hat, eating the smelly bone and forever asking them to stop singing.  The world in which Atwood created with the MaddAddam trilogy seems eerily close to our own future which may contribute to why I find it such a fascinating and engaging read.  Score one for speculative fiction Ms. Atwood.

17262203

Leave a Reply

