Author Encounters and a Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

It’s no secret that I absolutely adored Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park – I laughed, I cried, I thought about it for days, I stalked E&P fan art on Pinterest, etc. etc. (see previous previous posting). I’ve been singing Rowell’s praises since the moment I finished E&P, in fact, even before I finished her amazing novel, I knew I was in author love., like possibly surpassing my love for John Green (blasphemy??). Following E&P I read Allegiant *yawn* (see previous posting). I knew I needed some more Rowell in my literary life. And upon finishing Fangirl, my heart solidified Rowell as my favorite author of 2013 (and possibly of the entire decade). I read Fangirl in one day, not because I’m a particularly fast reader but because I had Veteran’s Day off from work and I could not put the book down. And though I immediately let one of my friends borrow it, I am already itching to re-read it.

16068905

Here is my facebook post following finishing Fangirl: ‘I read fanfiction and I’m only mildly afraid to admit it. And on that note, go read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, my new favorite author (see previous Eleanor and Park posting).’ I know exactly 2 other people who read fanfiction but they will remain nameless to protect their identities. Fangirl made me realize it was mostly ok to say that I read fanfiction, that it doesn’t need to be a dark dirty secret. I like reading non-JKR Harry Potter stories, so what, who cares? I read fanfiction, I support Dramoine (look it up) and I love it.

And I love Fangirl. Fangirl is the story of twin sisters who move away to college in Nebraska. One sister, Cath is introverted and a huge fanfiction writer for the fictional Simon Snow series. Her sister, Wren, is bursting to create her own, separate life at college, away from Cath. It is a funny, touching story of family and fanfiction. Between each chapter, Rowell includes an ‘excerpt’ from the Simon Snow series or from the Simon Snow fanfiction. I need Rowell to write both Simon Snow novels and Cath’s fanfiction. To top it off, there are cute college boys, a kick-ass roommate, an endearingly troubled father, and did I mention fanfiction?

f3dcc1b2ff8980c41153fa48c60b33b6

Fangirl fanart – what did you expect??

What could be better than finding a new favorite author? How about meeting your new favorite author?! What What!! Rainbow Rowell (with David Levithan) visited the Little Shop of Stories in Decatur, GA and I got to meet her and have her sign my books and have my own fangirl moment.

IMG_2730

Hearing Rainbow and David read from their books was amazing!!

Leave a Reply

