Author Encounters and a Book Review: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Ever since I joined the Not-So-YA Book Club at the Little Shop of Stories in Decatur, GA, I have been exposed to a wide variety of novels I might not have otherwise read if left up to my own devices. Most notably, the entire genre of historical fiction. Through book club I have read some amazing historical novels including Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters, Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys, and now The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

Image

The Book Thief is one of those novels I have been seeing in book stores for years (can you believe it came out in 2005?!). Every time I went to pick up the book, I read the back, saw a description containing Nazi Germany and put it back on the shelf . . . Not my favorite subject matter to say the least. But I have learned to place some faith and trust and a little bit of pixie dust in book club!

As if experiencing this wonderful novel wasn’t enough, through Little Shop of Stories I was able to see an advance screening of The Book Thief at Atlantic Station followed by a question and answer session with the director, producer, author, and one of the stars of the show – I’m talking about Brian Percival (is he related to Dumbledore??), Karen Rosenfelt, Markus Zusak himself, and Sophie Nelisse! Unbelievable! I could have listened to Zusak speak all night long. He said he had three main plot points concerning the Book Thief: the use of colors, death as the narrator, and a girl who steals books – quite the brilliant trio. And Sophie was just darling.

Image

And the icing on the cake? I might have casually stalked Zusak after the event to have him sign my book!! What a talented, Australian-accented, adorable author… Yes please 🙂

Image

This is also another book that has some incredible fanart – via pinterest!

Image

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

