Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

My last entry was composed before I zoomed off to my monthly book club at Little Shop of Stories in Decatur, GA. Once I got to the bookstore, I mingled around the YA section per usual just browsing aka trying to narrow it down to just one book to buy, always a difficult feat. My fellow clubbers (and the entire internet it seems) had been abuzz about E. Lockhart’s last novel We Were Liars. Word on the cyberstreet was that We Were Liars had a killer ending which was not to be spoiled. Decision made! I even selflessly picked out a book for hubsmiestermcgee (ha take that spellcheck!)

16143347

A couple days post-bookclub I started Just One Year by Gayle Forman but I found myself not super motivated to read it. I mean I will read it, I just need to get into it – ladies-man Willem is a hard POV for me to get into (but I plan to give it another try!). Ramble ramble ramble getting to the actual point – I picked up We Were Liars one night after work and I read it one sitting (which is rare for me)! Though the novel is a quick read, I found myself unable to put the book down and go to sleep. This was also out of the ordinary because privileged white kids usually aren’t my thing (which was why my enjoyment of Just One Day was a complete surprise and while my not-enjoyment of The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle was not a surprise).

f5ec69145c0b407469ac8b2bcbd83c46

We Were Liars is the story of Cadence, Mirren, Johnny, and Gat as they spend every summer since childhood on a private island off the New England coast. When they are 15, an accident happens of which Cadence has no memory and the tight knit group of friends/relatives/something more seems to have become unraveled permanently. Cady does not spend her 16th summer at the island but returns when she is 17 to try and put her old life back together. Slowly she puts the pieces back together and the truth will shock you (well it shocked me)! I think part of the shock is that it is a double whammy – BAM – part one OMG INTENSE SAD – and then BAM – part two INSERT EXPLETIVE! I wanted to wake up hubsmiestermcgee but resisted, how nice of me. Lockhart has a way with words and adjectives that just spoke to me, making me interested in reading her other novels. We Were Liars is a great summer read and must be added to the to-read shelf immediately!

tumblr_mxk4csF2ON1sm095go1_500

There is also a fantastic We Were Liars tumblr which is where the images in this entry are from!

Reads that are supposed to be near future reads: Just One Year by Gayle Forman, Noggin by John Corey Whaley, and Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

2 thoughts on “Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. I’m so conflicted about We Were Liars. It looks awesome, but I’ve heard a couple of other reviews that say it isn’t worth the time. I think I’m going to give it a try regardless, because I’ve heard there is a great plot twist.

    Erin @ Raised Reading

  2. I think We Were Liars is one of those books that has gotten so much hype that it will polarize readers – you’re either going to love it or be completely underwhelmed. Now that readers expect a twist, I’m sure they will try and figure it out along the way. I didn’t take that approach and I think thats why I had such a great time reading this book. I would definitely recommend for a pool/beach/lake read!

Leave a Reply

