Whovians Unite!

Up until now I’ve kept Keenly Peaches mostly about the Young Adult fiction I read (more often than not including my beloved book club Not-So-YA) and I’ve decided I want to diversify a bit – just branch out and share more of my everyday life. I don’t read quite as many books as others and I tend to watch a great deal of Netflix so I just wanted to share other aspects of my life and maybe that will lead to posting more than twice a month. Well that makes me sound like a hermit, but I am a bit of hermit so I guess thats ok.

One of my newer obsessions (within the past year) has been Doctor Who. My husband started watching this odd show before bed and I was like what the hell is that?! He told me, you must watch this, you must. I resisted. It wasn’t until my friend Kelley was like no seriously you need to watch this that I gave it a shot (we share a similar wavelength of books, disney movies, and overall nerdom). And I’ve been a Whovian ever since. Christopher Eggleston was my first doctor, David Tennant is my favorite doctor, and I am without a doubt a Ten/Rose shipper. Donna is my second favorite companion – I love the friendship between her and the Doctor, I have a hipster crush on Rory and I’m skeptical of Peter Capaldi. I think that is the simplified version of my Whovian status.

167101dd8ae480bec360a3861e5fd1c0

Last Halloween, Mark and I went as the Tenth Doctor and the TARDIS. Oh, and probably my favorite episode is The Doctor’s Wife (and Blink but I feel like that’s everyone’s favorite so it almost doesn’t count). We looked pretty awesome if I do say so myself. I essentially searched on Pinterest for a TARDIS costume that I didn’t need to be Martha Stewart to make.

IMG_2663

IMG_2664

This past weekend at the Masquerade in Atlanta, there was a Time Lord Party! Mark and I went and we had a great time; there was a band, vendors (I bought a little Tenth Doctor magnet), themed drinks and costume contest. I did think the event was a little odd on a Friday night from 9PM to 3AM with a DJ attempting to cater to mostly nerdy introverts, all dressed in the same five costumes but everyone seemed to be having a good time despite their social abnormalities.

IMG_3575

IMG_3576

IMG_3578

All that said, I’m super excited for new season to start back up, I’m ready to move on from Clara (obviously not this season), and I really just want to watch the 50th anniversary special over and over again.

3342f234347e0c1574ac354ccc45977e

Leave a Reply

