An Adventure into Comic Books!

After the most recent Booktube-A-Thon I have been interested in broadening my reading horizons to include comic books and graphic novels. This is completely uncharted territory for me. Lies! Actually, I did briefly read the Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics but that fell by the wayside because I was so set in my ways of devouring Buffy via television I couldn’t connect well with the comics.

IMG_3679

ANYWAY!! After I saw videos from Amandapearl2books, Little Book Owl, and The Readables, comic books and graphic novels seemed to calling to me. What sealed the deal for me for was a video by The Readables titled Free Comic Book Day ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMEQ9HEJvrE&feature=youtu.be&list=UUWAtADn9MGtTmace0M4nT2g ) in which she talked a comic book series called Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson and Grace Ellis, illustrated by Brooke Allen. Noelle Stevenson is also the illustrator of the cover of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Now if you’ve read any of my previous postings, you know I am head over heels for all things Rainbow. I knew I needed to look into Lumberjanes ASAP especially since this triggered some unconscious memories of seeing Lumberjanes related postings on tumblr and not having a clue what they were about.

IMG_3674

I bought the first 3 comics in the series from Criminal Records in Atlanta, GA. The guy in the comic book section exercised some serious patience while answering my questions. Like I said uncharted territory. Comics come out monthly, well Lumberjanes does and once their gone, they’re gone unless they do another printing for instance my first issue is a second printing. It was a whole learning experience.

IMG_3675

As of now I have only read the first issue but I liked it – it was unexpectedly random, kind of ridiculous and definitely entertaining. Lumberjanes are kind of like girl scouts and the comic book takes place at summer camp with five friends – Jo, April, Mai, Molly, and Ripley, there’s also the camp counselor Jen and the slightly mentally unbalanced camp director Rosie – that’s not even counting the old bearwoman, the creepy foxes with three eyes or the ill omen of ‘Beware the Kitten Holy’. The illustrations are wonderful, the colors vivid, the facial expressions priceless. I look forward to possibly becoming a comic book nerd.

IMG_3677

Next up I’m thinking of reading the Saga series written by Brian Vaughan with the artistic talents of Fiona Staples.

Saga1coverByFionaStaples

Leave a Reply

