Decatur Book Festival 2014

August has been a whole mess of crazy in the reading department. And by whole mess of crazy I mean I actually accomplished a lot. After reading Landline by Rainbow Rowell and taking a dive into comic books with Lumberjanes by Brooke Allen and Noelle Stevenson, I read The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman, Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer, the first 3 volumes of Saga by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples and last but not least Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. I will do my best to post a review about each of them in the coming days (what in the world am I getting myself into??).

I wanted to talk about the Decatur Book Festival. DBF is one of the largest book festivals in the country which takes place every Labor Day weekend in Decatur, GA. This is the third year I have gone and its gets better and better every year (also hotter and hotter, like hanging out with Hades hot). I pretty much spent all Saturday and Sunday hanging out in Decatur square sweating my ass off but having a wonderfully bookish time.

IMG_3753

All day Saturday my butt was parked squarely at the teen stage (you know I love me some YA lit).  Here’s a run down of the panels I attended Saturday:

Just Do It Panel with Terra McVoy, Lauren Myracle and Len Vlahos moderated by Lauren Morrill

Tell Me the Truth Panel with Jennifer Armentrout, Adele Griffin and Jennifer Mathieu moderated by Judy Blundell

Map of My Heart: Love Stories Panel with Adi Alsaid, Isabel Gillies, Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer Smith moderated by Elizabeth Lenhard

Guys and Girls Like Us Panel with Geoff Herbach, Ellen Hopkins, Jandy Nelson and Andrew Smith moderated by Len Vlahos

IMG_3764

And Sunday – woah woah attending adult fiction panels:

The Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff Vandermeer

The Magician’s Land by Lev GrossmanIMG_3787

DBF is the perfect place to visit authors you already know and love (Stephanie Perkins and Lev Grossman) and to get to know new (at least to you) authors (Adele Griffin and Andrew Smith). In between panel discussions, book signings, and book browsing, you can attempt to beat the blistering heat and enjoy a King of Pops (orange passionfruit for me on Saturday and salted lemonade on Sunday). My book haul for DBF consisted of Authority and Acceptance by Jeff Vandermeer, I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith, and The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin. If my messenger bag (and my bank account) would have permitted, I would have bought even more books! I am going to be one busy reader this fall.

IMG_3790

In addition to these wonderful novels, I also bought this bitchin’ tee shirt from Little Shop of Stories – my all time favorite bookstore 🙂

IMG_3778

Definitely look for a future review of the first the volumes of the comic book series Saga – my new obsession.

Leave a Reply

