More Comic Booking!

I might have just made up the phrase comic booking but I like it. After stumbling my way through the comic book store to buy Lumberjanes, I bought Saga Volumes 1-3 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples online (never fear there will be plenty of awkward comic book store adventures to come). Let me just say HOLY CRAP THIS IS THE BEST THING I’VE EVER READ.

IMG_3751

Consider me completely obsessed. Saga is the epic story of Marko and Alana, two members of opposing alien races which have been at war with each other for centuries upon centuries. They are quite literally star-crossed lovers. Saga is told from the point of view of Hazel, Marko and Alana’s love child. I can’t get enough Saga. The story is fantastic and the artwork takes my breath away. There is nudity, violence, witty banter, even thoughtful commentary of the rippling effects of war. There were moments that made me laugh out loud, cry out in surprise, and nearly cry.

cd33b1e95bdf402a2059ce1106f54d31

Marko and Alana’s hodgepodge family is rounded out by Hazel’s eternally teenaged babysitter Izabel – a ghost missing her lower half due to a bomb, Marko’s prejudicial parents, and a flying spaceship which is really a tree with a mind of its own. Marko and Alana are on the run from a variety of assassins, my favorite being The Will and his Lying Cat. Additionally, Marko is being pursued by his spurned fiance Gwendolyn who’s pretty badass herself. There is also a race of robot television people who are soldiers for hire.

bfea60797e8ffefc1409a91f6718f075

Now I’m at a crossroads, do I continue with the bound volumes or do I take up single issues?? First world problems for sure.  Up next in adventures in comic booking is Ms. Marvel and Locke and Key by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez.  I’d love any other suggestions!

Leave a Reply

