Book Review: My True Love Gave to Me Edited by Stephanie Perkins

My True Love Gave to Me is a collection of 12 holiday-themed romance tales brought to you by some of the best young adult authors today, edited by Stephanie Perkins (author of the Anna and the French Kiss trilogy). Two weeks ago my fav bookshop Little Shop of Stories in Decatur, GA hosted David Levithan and Stephanie Perkins herself. Both authors read from their stories, spoke a bit about their favorite parts of the holidays and signed copies of the novel.

IMG_4055

I was planning on saving this collection until December but I wanted to be prepared for the reading so Christmas came a bit early. It was however a great way to kick on the holiday season! I’m just going to speak a bit about a few of the stories. Overall, the collection was heart warming, a perfect winter read. Levithan’s story titled ‘Your Temporary Santa’ was one of the more serious stories about a teenage boy pretending to be Santa for his boyfriend’s youngest sister. Levithan really knows how to pull together family dynamics in just a few pages.

Stephanie Perkin’s tale ‘It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown’ is easily her best work to date. You read that right, I would go so far as to say that this is my favorite writing by her ever, including the entire Anna trilogy. Don’t believe me? Read it for yourself. I could read an entire novel about Marigold and North, their 34 page romance made me fall in love right there with them.

IMG_4058

My favorite, surprise surprise, was Midnights by Rainbow Rowell which follows Mags and Noel over the course of multiple New Year’s Eves, their friendship anniversary. Midnights is another short story that I wish was an entire novel. Ahh give me all the stories!!!! This collection introduced me to some new authors, notable Matt De La Pena, Kiersten White, and Ally Carter, all of which I am really eager to read some of their full length novels. There are a few supernatural stories I found enjoyable but overall I did not like them as much as the more traditional realistic holiday romances.

The cover art for this collection is beautiful and features all 12 couples ice skating. Curl up next to the fire with a cup of hot chocolate for this deliciously sweet holiday read (I think I just vomited a little in my mouth typing that). But seriously it’s really great read.

20309175

Leave a Reply

