Holiday Comic Book Haul!

The latter half of 2014 revealed itself to be the season of comic books. This has been coming on for quite some time and I’m just sad I never gave comics their due before now!! The Tuesday I left for NC for Christmas, I had a whole to-do list. Sandwiched in between the liquor store (it was the holidays after all!) and grabbing lunch was a stop by Criminal Records to pick up Saga Volume 4, the latest issue of Lumberjanes #9 and to investigate some other potential comic purchases I’d seen recommended on the interwebs.

IMG_4221_2

Saga and Lumberjanes are already in my subscription rotation, as well as Ms. Marvel. The newcomers are Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan and the new (lady) Thor by Jason Aaron and Russell Dauterman. Y: The Last Man was recommended on an episode of the Panels podcast. Panels is a comic book spin-off of the bookish website Book Riot. Y: The Last Man is about the last man (duh) on Earth after a mysterious illness (??) kills all the men on Earth except him. The first issue is very introductory and I look forward to getting more in depth with the story. Prior to my current foray into comics, I hadn’t read any Thor but you can’t deny that the (lady) Thor cover is amazing. So far, I’ve only read 2 issues and it looks like they are up to 3 based on comixology.com. Without any backstory (I haven’t even seen the Hemsworth movies!), I found the comics to be enjoyable and the artwork great. At first I thought (lady) Thor was old Thor’s mum but that doesn’t seem to be the case. Damn cartoon white blonde women all looking alike!

So that was my pre-Christmas comic book haul. Underneath the Christmas tree, Santa left me some comic book money, well just regular money that I turned into comic book money (alchemy anyone?). I am very excited about these four comics:

Locke and Key Volume 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by: Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez,

Seconds: A Graphic Novel by: Bryan Lee O’Malley,

Sex Criminals Volume 1 by: Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

Courtney Crumrin Volume 1: The Night Things Special Edition by: Ted Naifeh

IMG_4222

I have already devoured Locke and Key and Sex Criminals: both of them are great in essentially polar opposite ways, like seriously 180 degrees, could not be further apart. Sex Criminals was laugh out loud funny as Jon and Suzie discover they can stop time when they orgasm. When they hook-up one night at a party, hilarity ensues. The artwork in particular when time stops is beautiful – Sex Criminals Volume 2 is slated to be released 3/10/15. Locke and Key is just…. I’m still processing – I read it in one sitting right before bed, not the smartest decision of my life. After the horrific murder of their father, the Locke children move across the country to live with their Uncle Duncan in a mansion called the Keyhouse on an island called Lovecraft. This comic is haunting, gruesome, and an intense page turner. I’m already plotting my trip to Criminal Records to buy Volume 2 to keep up with the precarious fate of the Locke children.

I will be diving into Seconds and Courtney Crumrin as soon as I can! Seconds is a full-length graphic novel about a young chef named Katie with a never-ending supply of second chances. Courtney Crumrin is just your average girl dragged from the suburbs to live with her eccentric Uncle in a creepy old house cue shenanigans.

This is just the beginning of what I hope to be a wonderful relationship with comic books. Here’s to 2015!!

2 thoughts on “Holiday Comic Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

