The Wicked and the Divine Vol. 1: The Faust Act

The Wicked and the Divine Vol. 1 written by Kieron Gillen and art by Jamie McKelvie encompasses the first five issues of the series which follow twelve gods who are reborn into the world every ninety years but within another two years are dead.

TheWickedAndDivine_vol1-1

I was first introduced to W + D on Panels where it was listed as great holiday gift for ‘for your cousin who only reads literary fiction’ – it was also on a ‘best of 2014‘ list and ‘best of women in comics in 2014‘. How could I go wrong (aside from literary fiction bit HA)? I wanted to like W + D, I really did. The artwork is gorgeous, the costuming (for lack of a better word) of the gods is beautiful i.e. the individual issue covers. I just didn’t connect with the characters. It wasn’t a page turner for me, I wasn’t dying to read the next issue and I even skimmed issues #4 and #5. Sad but true. Part of the problem is me, I’m not the biggest fan of various mythologies. Maybe I need to start smaller, like Percy Jackson?

What’s next for me and comics? I am really excited to read Lady Thor #3 and #4, Locke and Key Vol. 4, as well as the next couple of Nailbiter and the graphic novel Seconds. What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

