Agent Carter: Episodes 1 – 4

After re-watching The Avengers on FX the other night, I decided to give Agent Carter on ABC a try. I’ve seen Captain America, I haven’t seen the Winter Solider yet (I know!), and I gave S.H.I.E.L.D. a shot but I’ve heard once I watch Winter Solider then I really have to watch S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Carter follows titular character Peggy Carter post-WWII as she conducts secret missions while fighting against working as only a secretary for the Strategic Scientific Reserve (SSR).

B5FF35iIQAAyKsr

I watched all 4 episodes on demand last night, I mean how do you spend your Saturday nights? Agent Peggy Carter kicks some major ass. I liked the details I had missed or forgotten about in the Marvel universe – Howard Stark himself (now I want to re-watch Iron Man) and Jarvis being an actual person before J.A.R.V.I.S. I was also pleasantly surprised to see Enver Gjokaj Agent Daniel Sousa most notably known as Victor from Dollhouse but also of Dexter.

agent-carter_cast-promotional-photos-4

Parts of it are hard to watch, not the violence I mean, but the inherent sexism of the 1940s is just rough. Agent Carter’s boss Roger Dooley and wannabe boss Jack Thompson (played by Chad Michael Murray) don’t even blink an eye while they verbally degrade Peggy. That part is the hardest. She helped save the world in WWII with Captain America and she is expected to gather lunch orders everyday. But whatever screw them, she’s kicking ass by night.

One final note, I love the period music of the 1940’s, it’s such a nice touch. I can’t say that I will watch in real time (there aren’t many shows I do watch except for probably Game of Thrones) but I will definitely set the DVR up to record Agent Carter.

agentcarter1

One thought on “Agent Carter: Episodes 1 – 4

Leave a Reply

