Star Wars: A Gateway Drug (I hope)

Ahead of the new Star Wars film being released later this year (don’t mess this up JJ Abrams!), Marvel is releasing a new comic book series by Jason Aaron, John Cassaday, and Laura Martin which takes place after Star Wars IV: A New Hope. There are 2 issues out right now. Now Star Wars is beloved in my household – we love the original trilogy and loath the updated CGI, we are pro-ewok – we own the Caravan of Courage and Ewoks the Battle of Endor, we quote ‘It’s a trap’ constantly and our dog was almost named Chewbacca (we went with Indiana Jones, one Harrison Ford for another).

The husband does not read comic books but I knew, I knew that Star Wars would open his eyes to the amazing world of comics. He listens to the audiobooks of essentially published fanfiction for Star Wars so getting him to read a Star Wars comic book would be a piece of cake. I picked up both issues yesterday from my local comic book shop. I generously let him read them first (I’m so nice) and they are fantastic!

IMG_4305

 

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far way… – STAR WARS – oh god, how cool would it be if there was accompanying music?! If it was like a musical card and as you turned the pages there were different sound bites?? Aaron has captured the essence of Luke, Leia, Han, Threepio, and Vader himself. Their dialogue is spot on, I swear I can hear the actors voices reading the dialogue in my head. The characters are drawn to resemble their movie counterparts and it’s done well, artistic without being creepy. The storyline seems like a completely plausible adventure that would have taken place between A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back and at this point, I don’t have any negative critiques. I did see from the ends of the issues there are upcoming comic books for Darth Vader and Princess Leia (different writers/artists). All the comics!! I really think this could be a gateway drug for my husband.

In addition to Star Wars, my latest comic book haul included Wytches #4, Ms. Marvel #11, Locke and Key Vol. 4, and mother effing Saga #26. Love love love Saga. Love Love love comic books.

IMG_4300_2

Leave a Reply

