Sunday Comics – Free Comic Book Day Edition

Saturday, May 2nd was Free Comic Book Day AND Independent Bookstore Day!!  Needless to say, I spend the day with my favorite comic book shop Criminal Records and my favorite bookstore Little Shop of Stories who was also celebrating their 10 year anniversary.

So much activity in one day definitely led to a late afternoon couch nap during Star Trek TNG.  I picked up 15 free comics from Criminal Records.  The comics I picked up were a mix of ones I’d been looking forward to (Doctor Who, Boom!’s 10 year celebration), ones I’ve been curious about (Cleopatra in Space, Gronk), and ones that just looked cool (Lady Justice, Worlds of Aspen).

IMG_4603

In honor of LSOS’s 10 year anniversary, they had a party in Decatur Square Saturday afternoon.  I bought up An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (a much anticipated read and my book club pick for August), enjoyed a delicious King of Pops ‘Little Pop of Stories’ – raspberry-lime flavored, and got a sweet temporary tattoo on my wrist ‘read’.

2056013720958632

I rounded out my day reading The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black (May book club pick) and watching Orphan Black – all in all, a pretty magically nerdy wonderful day.

How did you spend Free Comic Book Day and Independent Bookstore Day??

One thought on “Sunday Comics – Free Comic Book Day Edition

Leave a Reply

