Charleston Comics

This past weekend Mark and I decided to flee Hotlanta and go to Charleston for a weekend away.  Between the beach (it rained) and the pool (magically sunny) and clothes shopping (yawn) you know I had to hit up the local comic book store, Captain’s Comics and Toys.  Pretty eclectic mix if I do say so.

Enchanted Forest: An Inky Quest and Coloring Book by Johanna Basford (Full disclosure I bought this from Urban Outfitters before we went to Captain’s).  This gorgeous fantasy-themed coloring book was just calling my name.  I need to buy some colored pencils ASAP! 

Wytches Vol. 1 – Yes I have all the single issues and yes I still bought the trade.  I couldn’t pass it up, it’s just a beautiful volume.  (I’m also struggling with single issue storage, help!)

Captain Marvel Vol. 1 – I have never read Captain Marvel, I know blasphemy!!  Spurred by Kelly Sue DeConnick coming to DragonCon, I decided to finally get on board with Captian Marvel, can’t wait to dive in!

What comics are you reading?

3 thoughts on “Charleston Comics

  1. For my single issues I have a filing cabinet with a hanging folder system in place. It works really well and can hold a few hundred single issues if done correctly. You can also organize it easily which is nice

  2. I actually just got the first single issue of that Captain Marvel on Saturday and it is so good. I now want to read the original Ms. Marvel comics with Carol (then Ms. Marvel, now Captain Marvel) in them. I got mainly because of how I recently ordered a volume of the new Ms. Marvel comics with the main protagonist as some Jersey Muslim girl (sorry if that sounded harsh or judgmental; I’m actually glad for the diversity but I can’t remember the girl’s name) and saw a copy for this new Captain Marvel and I flipped my crap. It is so good and I was very glad to see my all-time favorite superhero (and major MCU crush) Captain America on the first couple of pages.

Leave a Reply

